top of page

Firearms Sales / Ammunition / Accessories / Firearms Training

Purchasing a Firearm in Arizona

Buyer must not be a "prohibited possessor" under federal or state law and be

• over 18 years of age in order to purchase a long gun or

• over 21 in order to purchase a handgun.

• present government-issued photo ID which establishes name, address, date-of-birth and carries a signature

• Correctly and completely fill out and sign government form 4473

• If not a U.S. citizen and not an immigrant visa foreign nationals will need to present proof of exception status

• Be able to pay for his or her purchase

• The dealer will then call or fax the Arizona Firearms Clearance Center for an Arizona clearance as well as a federal NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) check. Usually the check itself will take less than a minute and the resultant answer is either a proceed, a delay or a deny. A delay gives the FBI 3 days to clear it up and before which the firearm cannot be sold. After 3 days the sale can take place automatically. A deny means the sale cannot go through and the purchaser can contact the Arizona Firearms Clearance Center to clear up the matter.

• An Arizona resident may then take possession of the firearm. Non-residents need to comply with several additional criteria:

• the firearm must be legally possessible in the buyer's state of residence

• the transaction must be legal in the purchaser's state of residence

• Immediate possession of long guns is allowed if this is allowed in the state of residence

• Purchased handguns will be shipped by the dealer in Arizona to a licensed dealer (FFL [Federal Firearms License]) in the state of residence.

bottom of page