-
 
ARIZONA CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT
and
RENEWAL OF EXISTING ARIZONA PERMIT
 
PERMIT REQUIREMENT 
 
1.     Must be a United States citizen or permanent resident alien.
 
2.     Must be lawfully present in the United States.
 
3.     Must be at least 21 years of age.
 
4.     Not under indictment or have not been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
 
5.     Not convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence.
 
6.     Not under court order (i.e. order of protection, harassment, etc.)
 
7.     Not a fugitive from justice.
 
8.     Not a user of or addicted to any controlled substance.
 
9.     Not been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
 
10.  Have never renounced U.S. citizenship.
 
11.  Do not suffer from mental illness and have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution.
 
12.  Have satisfactorily completed a (8 hours) Certification Course.
Training must take place within Arizona.
 
            Exceptions:
             
            • Active duty Arizona Peace Officers Standards and Training Board certified or federally credentialed peace officers.
            • Honorably retired federal, state or local peace officers with a minimum of 10 years of service may obtain a permit without taking the firearms safety training program.
            • DPS approved Firearms Safety Training Instructors may obtain a permit without taking the firearms safety training program.
             
            13. Concealed weapon permits may be renewed every five (5) years.
             
            Fee: $ 60 - Concealed Weapon Permit or $43 - Concealed Weapon Permit Renewal (valid for 5 years)
             
            First Time Permit
             
            • 8-hour training course
             
            • application must be submitted within six months from completion of class
             
            • fingerprint card
             
            • $60 cashier's check, certified check or money order
             
             
            Law Enforcement Exemption For First Time Permit
             
            • application submitted with retired law enforcement exemption indicated
             
            • honorably retired with proof of ten years minimum service as a sworn peace officer
             
            • fingerprint card
             
            • $60 cashier's check, certified check or money order
             
             
            Permit Renewal
             
            • complete an application provided by AZ DPS ( 602.256.6280  602.256.6280 )
             
            • $43 cashier's check, certified check or money order
             
             
            Note: all permits can be renewed 90 days prior to the expiration date and up to 60 days after the expiration date.  If more than 60 days after the expiration date, the applicant must take the original 8 hour course again.